Ode to choosing to taking the first step and willingness to be the #Drum

I wake daily and am grateful to have woke up. One of the first things I think of each day is this inspiration:
Most days I don’t see the stair case but I choose to step out in faith, however tiny it may seem this day. Trust me, even I have Days of Doubt, but it will be my actions and inactions that will matter in the end.
I agree. Do every lil’ thing from a place of love. And have dessert first every now and again.
This always reminds me….be the Change I want to see, change the struggle if I can. Take someone by the hand and show them if need be. First I must be willing to be the one to Change and to Step Up, even when I do not want to.
All three sayings are from:
This article reminds me that even I can be of service, can find a way to volunteer, a way to give back, a way to be a #BearerOfHope in some small way If only I am willing…..

President Barack Obama said the true meaning of a quote that is being modified on the Martin Luther King Jr. memorial following an uproar is that everyone can be of service.

From an article By Sabrina Siddiqui and Kate Andersen Brower Jan 16, 2012 in Bloomberg News:

Obama Says Martin Luther King Memorial Quote Is Call to Service

“I know there’s been a lot of controversy lately about the quote on the memorial,” Obama, the nation’s first black president, said at a service project at a school in Washington in honor of today’s King holiday. “If you look at that speech about Dr. King as a drum major, what he really said was that all of us could be a drum major for service, all of us could be a drum major for justice, and there’s nobody who can’t serve, nobody who can’t help somebody else.”

The inscription on the stone monument reads: “I was a drum major for justice, peace and righteousness.” It has drawn criticism as having been taken out of context and representing only part of a fuller quote. Obama dedicated the King memorial on the national mall in Washington in October.

The actual quote from King during a February 1968 sermon was, “If you want to say that I was a drum major, say that I was a drum major for justice. Say that I was a drum major for peace. I was a drum major for righteousness. And all of the other shallow things will not matter.”

8888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888

This was my ode to choosing to take the first step in faith and being willing to be a #BearerOfHope to someone else today, to stepping up to the plate and being the #Drum  No more excuses, let’s come from a place of Love and be the change we all are seeking Uplift those willing to step up to the plate and roll up their sleeves and do the job. We have a common man(carpet cleaning businessman) here in Reno , George “Eddie” Lorton stepping up to the plate also trying to do these things. He is running for #RenoMayor2014 . Once again steping up Tuesday morning in Carson City. We need to come from a place of love and be the drum of support on Tuesday. 

Leave a Reply

